(Simsbury, CT – May 10, 2011) – Connecticut Main Street Center (CMSC) has announced that WNPR / Connecticut Public Radio has been selected to receive the 2011 Connecticut Light and Power Company Award for Outstanding Contributions to Main Street Revitalization for its live call-in program, Where We Live. Host John Dankosky will accept the award, which will be presented at the 2011 Connecticut Main Street Awards Gala on Monday, June 6 at the Nancy Marine Studio Theatre in Downtown Torrington.

CMSC established the CL&P Award in 2001 to recognize those organizations and individuals who dedicate themselves to promoting an awareness of a comprehensive management approach to the revitalization of Connecticut’s historic downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts. The award is named for its first recipient, the Connecticut Light and Power Company, which launched the state’s Main Street program in 1995. CL&P still stands as the only private corporation in the country to solely sponsor a statewide Main Street initiative.

Where We Live

Where We Live, a WNPR-produced, interactive program, explores important issues and ideas that affect where, how and even why people live in Connecticut – and how Connecticut fits into a global society. Using the award-winning producers of WNPR News, Where We Live expands in-depth, original reporting, creating conversations that draw in newsmakers, opinion leaders and engaged citizens.

Since coming to Connecticut in 1994, John Dankosky, WNPR News Director and Host of Where We Live, has helped to build WNPR’s award-winning newsroom, cultivating one of the most talented news staffs in public radio. He has reported for National Public Radio on presidential elections, crime, education, drug abuse, immigration and more. He has edited award-winning documentaries on Connecticut history, 9/11, and the mental health of children, and has been involved in editorial planning for Public Radio News Directors, Inc., The Public Radio Exchange, and NPR’s Local News Initiative. He has won awards for reporting, hosting Where We Live, and “overall station excellence” from the Associated Press.

Where We Live focuses on the myriad issues that make their way into Connecticut’s Main Street conversations, including history & heritage, placemaking, smart growth, sustainability, transportation, housing, preservation, architecture, urban planning, redevelopment and small business. The program fosters a rich civic dialogue, both through its format as a live call-in show and through the selection of topics and guest speakers from Connecticut and beyond.

Past recipients of the CL&P Award include:

2010 – The Partnership for Strong Communities’ HOMEConnecticut Campaign

2009 – Keith J. Kumnick, SIOR

2008 – Linda Osten (posthumous)

2007 – Martha A. Hunt

2006 – The Hartford Courant’s PLACE Editorial

2005 – Webster Bank

2003 – John W. (Jack) Shannahan

2002 – The State of Connecticut Department of Economic & Community Development

2001 – The Connecticut Light and Power Company

2011 Connecticut Main Street Awards Gala sponsors include Baywater Properties and Webster Bank, sponsoring the “Welcome to Main Street” reception. Additional Awards Gala sponsors include The United Illuminating Company, Connecticut Natural Gas, Southern Connecticut Gas, Connecticut Housing Finance Authority, Pitney Bowes, CEDAS, Colliers International, Connecticut Public Broadcasting Network (CPTV & WNPR), Yale University, Connecticut Economic Resource Center and Corporation for Independent Living.