CMSC is thrilled to celebrate our 2020 Awards of Excellence Winners

Eight initiatives from communities across Connecticut will be receiving this year’s Awards of Excellence from CMSC. Ranging from a municipality’s role in setting the stage for the downtown’s economic and social success to private citizens who invested in the redevelopment of key historic structures, this year’s winners represent the most transformative, catalytic, and inclusive efforts in bringing Connecticut’s Main Streets back to life over the past year.

Created in 2003 to recognize outstanding projects, individuals and partnerships in community efforts to bring traditional downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts back to life, socially and economically, the Awards of Excellence are presented annually. In 2020, CT Main Street Center will present each award locally in the community in which the project is located.

2020 Connecticut Main Street Awards of Excellence Winners:

Read the press release announcing our 2020 Awards of Excellence Winners.

CMSC also named the winners of CT Main Street Founder’s Award, presented by Eversource, and the Jack Shannahan Award for Public Service.

CT Main Street Founders Award Winner, presented by Eversource
The Cities Project
The Cities Project is a collaboration between seven leading Connecticut journalism organizations who publish periodic articles exploring challenges and solutions related to revitalizing Connecticut’s cities.  Members of the collaboration are CT MirrorConnecticut Public RadioHearst Connecticut MediaHartford Courant, the Waterbury Republican-AmericanHartford Business Journal, and Purple States. Together these seven media companies describe the key challenges our cities face, identify solutions that other cities around the country have implemented to address similar challenges, and explore the feasibility of implementing those solutions in Connecticut.

Jack Shannahan Award for Public Service
Sara C. Bronin
Sara C. Bronin is a Mexican-American author, attorney, and architect who has worked at the local, state, and national levels on policy reforms to improve and enhance our main streets and revitalize communities.  As Chair of the City of Hartford’s Planning & Zoning Commission, Sara has led collaborative efforts to draft and adopt the capital city’s Form-Based Zoning Code, its first Climate Action Plan, and its 2035 City Plan, which has a compelling vision to create connections, attract people, improve opportunity, and make the city fun! As the Board Chair of Preservation CT (formerly the CT Trust for Historic Preservation), Sara has advocated for the historic preservation tax credit and worked to align preservationists and environmentalists.  Sara also sits on the Board of Latinos in Heritage Conservation and serves as an Advisor to the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the Sustainable Development Code.