Thirteen municipalities will receive a combined $5 million in grants to develop or improve their town’s commercials districts in an effort to attract small businesses, grow jobs, and improve pedestrian access, Governor Dannel P. Malloy announced today.  The recipients include: Berlin, Bethel, Coventry, Farmington, New London, Newington, Norfolk, Pomfret, Rocky Hill, Seymour, Vernon, Wilton and Windsor.
The grants of up to $500,000 are part of the state’s Main Street Investment Fund, administered through the state Department of Housing. The fund provides financial incentives to eligible municipalities as well as owners of commercial private properties for expenditures that directly support and enhance a qualified project.  Eligible uses include building improvements, signage, lighting, and streetscape improvements.


Gov. Malloy announces investments in commercial districts to attract small businesses and grow jobs