Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

CMSC Honors Main Street Working Group with Shannahan Award

CMSC was thrilled to present the 2022 Jack Shannahan Award for Public Service to the Co-Chairs of The Main Street Working Group of the CT State Legislature on May 3rd 

The Main Street Working Group is chaired by:

  • Jane Garibay, Assistant Majority Leader – serving Windsor & Windsor Locks
  • Jennifer Leeper, 132nd District – serving Fairfield & Southport
  • Quentin Williams, 100th District – serving the Downtown, Northend, South Fire District, Wesleyan Hills & Wesleyan University areas of Middletown

Formed in January 2020, The Main Street Working Group was created to address concerns about neglected areas in cities and towns, and the need to restore vitality, local connectivity, and sustainability in order to spur economic growth. Meeting regularly with downtown professionals, municipal economic development directors, and CMSC staff, the Main Street Working Group examines existing policies and identifies opportunities to support Main Streets across the state. This award recognizes their willingness to listen to the needs of our downtowns and to develop pragmatic, resourceful solutions.

CMSC’s Government Affairs subcommittee chair Kathy Nanowski welcomed the attendees to the presentation, and CMSC Vice Chair Ryan Bingham was also on hand to celebrate the award winners.

Afterwards, Representative Williams recognized the Working Group’s fruitful collaboration with CMSC and CMSC’s staff and work from the floor of the chamber at the start of the session.

© Connecticut Main Street Center 
P.O. Box 270, Hartford, CT 06141 | 860.280.2337