Connecticut Main Street Center established The Connecticut Light and Power Company Award in 2001 to recognize organizations and individuals who dedicate themselves to promoting an awareness of the necessity of a comprehensive management approach to the revitalization of Connecticut’s Main Streets.

The award is named for its first recipient, The Connecticut Light and Power Company, which launched the State’s Main Street program in 1995.  CL&P still stands as the only private corporation in the country to solely sponsor and administer a statewide Main Street initiative.

The 2012 CL&P  Award was presented to the The Northwestern Connecticut Regional Planning Collaborative in recognition of their regionally coordinated efforts to engage and support local economic development through their Village Center Vitality initiative. This initiative includes marketing and promotion of local village center businesses, coordinated directional and welcome signage, and providing capacity building support to local business groups.  Click here to read more about the Collaborative’s efforts.


2013 – Toni A. Gold, Urban Planner & Hartford Advocate

2012 – The Northwestern Connecticut Regional Planning Collaborative

2011 – Connecticut Public Radio / WNPR for Where We Live

2010 – The Partnership for Strong Communities, for its HOMEConnecticut Campaign

2009 – Keith J. Kumnick, SIOR

2008 – Linda A. Osten, former Principal Planner for the Capitol Region Council of Governments, awarded posthumously

2007 – Martha A. Hunt, former President & CEO of the Connecticut Economic Resource Center

2006 – The Hartford Courant

2005 – Webster Bank

2003 – John W. (Jack) Shannahan, State Historic Preservation Officer

2002 – State of Connecticut Department of Economic & Community Development

2001 – The Connecticut Light & Power Company